My Writing Process Blog Tour + Yoga in the Park

Summer is officially here and I welcomed the summer solstice this past Saturday by doing yoga in the park. A local athletic store sponsored the yoga class and it was so much fun to be outdoors on a beautiful Saturday morning! Summer is the perfect time to take advantage of free events and activities taking place in your community. Check out the event calendars of local gyms, athletic stores and community centers to see what’s going on in your city and save some $$ this summer!

yoga

Last week, Lindsey Joe of Handmade Healthy invited me to join in on a blog tour called “My Writing Process”. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, head on over for some entertaining reads!

{My Writing Process Blog Tour}

1. What am I working on?
At the moment I’m working on improving my food photography and editing skills, and have been doing some research on DSLR cameras. I’ve always enjoyed photography, but now I’m really looking to take it to the next level. Hopefully I’ll have some great results to show in the near future! If you have any DSLR camera recommendations for food photography, I’d love to hear them! Other than that, I’m continuously working to bring you guys recipes and other fun food-related musings.

2. How does my work differ from others of its genre?
I fully support the consumption of pastries, ice cream, and fried chicken. Those are generally not things you’d hear from a dietitian. But I believe foods prepared with quality ingredients can reasonably fit into a healthy diet in the right balance. So from time to time, you will see more decadent recipes on blog amongst the healthier recipes …because that is the way I eat.

3. Why do I write what I do?
Because I love food! Seriously, it’s great to have a job and a blog that revolves around food because that’s what I’m thinking about for the majority of the day. I’m just in awe of the healing powers of food, the science of cooking, and the community that can be created by sharing food with others. So when I write about something on my blog, it’s because I hope that you will enjoy it as much I do and feel inspired to create something wonderful through food. It feels great when people leave positive comments on posts I’ve written–that’s what keeps me motivated!

4. How does your writing process work?
Wish I could give you a step by step process, but I’m not sure I’m that organized in my writing. Generally, for recipe posts, it starts with some inspiration from a cookbook or the internet. Then I get into my kitchen and just wing it from there–I have to remind myself while testing recipes to measure all of my ingredients because I don’t typically measure when cooking for leisure! Once I have my photographs, I write and edit in WordPress. If I hit a road block while writing, I step away for awhile to focus on something else instead. Sometimes it can take me a couple days to write a post, and other times I can knock them out quickly.

To see more from the blog tour, check out Local Forkful and Spinach Tiger, both fellow Nashvillians!

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “My Writing Process Blog Tour + Yoga in the Park

  1. Hey thanks for the mention. As far as cameras, I love my Canon TS3i. There may be a new comparable model, but the price range (around $500) will get you a fairly good Canon, but I also advise in investing in the fixed 50mm lens (around $300). In the meantime, the new iPhone takes fairly good pics. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

